Abstinence is overrated

All the newspapers have dubbed this new year with a a clean bill of health – the weekend supplements filled with yoga retreats and no-fun diets. After the gorgeing of a thousand turkeys and more mince pies than is healthy it is no wonder, but I am playing it differently this year.

Normally I am right there with you. I can’t count on one hand the number of visits in January where I have signed up for costly gym memberships. This always results in the first and only time I visit the ghastly places. Months later I cancel them on the phone, too embaressed to personally cut myself loose. The industry is built around this collective feeling of guilt – after so much gluttony surely one must suffer?

This year for me is all about the goals that are realistic to keep. I am not going to promise that I won’t drink as much as last year, because I know I will. I have done so each year, and unless there is a major change in my circumstances (of which it would be something of a Mary miracle), I see no reason to stop. I will have a few months off it completely, but this is simply to remind myself that I can.

I am promising myself that I will be in bed before 3, on these now more rare moments that I can keep myself awake past midnight. This seems reasonable and in fact quite adult. I am now officially an adult. Daytime is more fun than night. Wowee.

But my greatest goal this year is to have more fun. Not the predictable fun like drinking to excess but good old fashioned fun. More walks in the country, more giggles, more pranks. In the gloom of impending financial meltdown it is important to apply that internal glow of good times.

So this year so far shows great promise – as they always do this time of year. The streets are quiet, and around the world people are putting themselves to the test for a greater, better self mostly through removing the fun bits of life. But here I am saying that this year is less about Abstinence and more about add-ons. Add-ons are much more fun and provide much more to be excited about.

Here’s cheers to a full on 2012!

P.S. If you do want to monitor your resolutions, I just found this article with all sorts of interesting apps to play with.

 

Leave a Reply

